On Superheroes

20131007-091141.jpg

If it seems like I have been a little quiet this week, it’s because I was working on a problem I couldn’t solve. I had to prepare a fictitious company’s corporate tax return and all necessary schedules and forms, given a trial balance and a few notes. And when I say I couldn’t solve this one, I mean that I couldn’t solve it alone.

Luckily, I was working with a team. And it was a team of superheroes. Every time somebody hit a dead end, nobody else gave up. I was absolutely thrown out of my comfort zone. And due to that very fact, I learned more during this one week doing this one assignment than I know how to quantify.

After countless hours, emails, and revisions, we submitted our return this morning. And this afternoon the professor wrote back with our grade:

“Perfect.”

I’m not used to having a question I can’t answer myself. I entered that disconcerting place, I came out the other side, and I emerged with the confidence born of overcoming.

It turns out that not-knowing can sometimes be the best door.

